International Association of Movers

The International Association of Movers (IAM) is the moving and forwarding industry’s largest global trade association. With more than 2,000 members, it comprises companies that provide moving, forwarding, shipping, logistics, and related services in more than 170 countries. Since 1962, IAM has been promoting the growth and success of its members by offering programs, resources, membership protections, and unparalleled networking opportunities to enhance their businesses and their brands.

Leadership at IAM

The Officers of the International Association of Movers consist of a Chair, Vice Chair, four Members-at-Large, and a paid President. The officers serve a one-year term; the President serves in accordance with the terms of his/her employment contract.

IAM’s By-laws provide that in addition to the Officers, the Executive Committee will be composed of the Core Members Representative, the Core Members Representative at Large, and the Chair of the IAM Young Professionals Group (IAM-YP), a non-voting representative. These representatives serve a two-year term.

IAM Fast Facts

  • Terry Head is the third President in the Association’s history, appointed in 1997.
  • In 2000, the IAM Young Professionals Group is formed.
  • The Alan F. Wohlstetter Scholarship Fund is established in 2002
  • Georgia Angell (Foremost Forwarders) is the first woman elected Chair of the Association, in 2003. She served for five years.
  • The Hall of Honor inducts its first class of industry leaders, including Association founders, in 2008.
  • In 2009, the Association changes its name from Household Good Forwarders Association of America, to the International Association of Movers.
  • In 2012, the Association celebrates its 50th Anniversary.

For more visit: www.iamovers.org